top of page
Search
  • olivias99

Life beyond surgery - My interview with Zoe Wain.

I spoke to Zoe Wain, a medical student at the University of Birmingham. I met Zoe seven years ago at the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, Stanmore. Zoe had a similar diagnosis and we had our spinal fusion surgeries on the same day.


Stanmore is a UK Centre of Excellence for spinal surgery and being surrounded by adolescent spinal patients allowed us all to feel a little more comfortable than we might otherwise have felt. Zoe and I spent the first night after surgery in high dependency with our beds next to one another. It was a huge comfort, even though I could not move, to know I had someone next to me who was the same age and understood exactly what I was going through.


The interview was again over the telephone to abide with the second lockdown rules. I had not spoken to Zoe since I was 15 and even though we had both gone on to live normal, happy lives, we would always have the bond of going through surgery together.


Zoe explains how scoliosis and spinal fusion has influenced her career path.

 

If you or anyone you know has been affected by scoliosis visit Scoliosis Association UK or call their helpline on 0208 964 1166 for support and advice.

107 views0 comments
bottom of page